Baby Led Breakfast

My mornings have developed their own special routine. Zoe greets me with a huge smile around 7:30am and I bring her downstairs and nurse her. We then play with books mostly for 20 min and she is ready for breakfast.

My adventure with baby led solids had led me to eat healthier and create new things. I usually have eggs cooked in olive oil to boost omegas and milk supply (get those healthy fats), but
I found Zoe to have a weird reaction when eating eggs, mostly just a rash on her face, so I have had to come up with different kinds of breakfast foods. These are the winners:

Cream of Buckwheat with bananas and a spoonful of yogurt. This is the messiest thing she eats because she just grabs huge fistfuls, but my dogs are always waiting.

Pumpkin pancakes: I don’t give Zoe syrup but she loves these with some fruit.
3/4 c. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 c. evaporated milk (you can use regular milk as well)
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. allspice
1/4 tsp. ginger
1/2 can or 1/2 c. canned pumpkin (or fresh cooked pumpkin)

Oatmeal with fresh cooked apples. I use organic whole oats which take longer than instant so if you soak them overnight with a tablespoon of yogurt, lemon, or vinegar(some sort of acid), it will cut the cooking time and help the oats to be more easily digested. I know you can also make them in the crock pot but I have yet to do that. Dont overdo the cinnomon liek I did, it can leave a rash on the skin. ooops.

I used to mix her green puffs cereal with yogurt, but I was burning through those too fast and they are not cheap.

Leave a Reply

